A year in the making.

I applied to the Peace Corps in September 2009 for many reasons, most of which I won’t bore you with. Finishing up with my last semester of undergrad, I was nervous, hopeful, anxious, and a whole mess of other things. Now after tons of hoops that were jumped through and road blocks I climbed or just plowed through, I have my official invitation.  I am woman, hear me roar. Someone had to be watching out over me, I am going to be serving in Thailand, otherwise known as the ‘Land of Smiles.’ Those that know me realize how often I goofily smile for no apparent reason.   Just smiling and nodding can get you pretty far in Thailand or so I’ve read.  This should be a good fit.  Right about now, I’m all those emotions mentioned above, multiplied times about 1000. Add in overwhelmed, scurrying about, and all sorts of other things and I could still never properly describe what this feeling is. I do know that it’s good. It’s the start of something new and amazing and fantastical.  It feels like my life is starting and in a big way.

Leave a Reply

