Accomplishments

Because the list of things to do is always on my mind and always seemingly overwhelming, it feels good to get a big project done.  Example, my closet. My room is likely going to stay a storage compartment for my things, but I’ve gotten in a mood lately that makes me question my possessions.  The type of lifestyle I want to live means traveling light, not accumulating knick knacks, furniture, and other bits and pieces that make up a home. Two of my biggest reliefs in preparing for the Peace Corps is donating about a third of my total clothes (and hopefully more) and paying off my big medical bill accumulated from last March (obligatory fuck you to UPMC Health Plan for being douche bags).  The rush to get things done is starting to hit. I leave in a little over a month.  How did that happen? It’s nice not working like a crazy person anymore.  I’ve been trying to save as much as possible before leaving so I can travel during and after service.  I know it’s ridiculous to start thinking of this now, but I’ve thought of several different places I want to explore after service.  Whether trekking down to Australia for a few years or heading up to China again to go on the Trans Siberian Railway to go back to Europe.  Should be focusing on the fact that I’m going to have to stand up in front of a classroom of kids for two years to not only entertain them, but teach them something somewhere along the way. This should be interesting.

Being a creep and checking out all the people on the introduction page on our facebook group.  Can’t help but feel a little inadequate given their legitimate teaching experience to my tutoring/talk time-ing.  This is going to be weird, I’ll have a big kid job (that is if I manage not to mess up during Pre-Service Training aka PST too much and actually pass the language test, gulp). Employed by the federal government, there is some kind of career legitimacy in that.  I can’t say that I want to be a waitress for the rest of my life (although I’ve enjoyed it/the people much, much more than I thought that I would) or sit at a desk in an office typing away either. I look forward to watching myself change during this process. I feel a bit more prepared this time around compared to London (although it was every bit as wonderful). Rawr, I’m ready to take on the world.

Leave a Reply

