Forget that coffee and change a life today!

So there is a project floating around Peace Corps Thailand lately called ‘Youth serving YOUth.’ It’s a really awesome thing consisting of Thai youth showing leadership potential and learning how to apply it to better their own communities. Many places in Thailand lack organized sports, after school activities (outside of cleaning the school), or other early development projects, so something like this will likely change the lives of those that attend. Encouraging Thai youth to strive for more, whether educational or otherwise, is something I’m very passionate about. I would not be the person I am today without the lessons I learned from role models and activities I participated in as a child and then teenager.

I’ve looked over the proposal, budget, and assorted necessities and I really think this is legit. I really wish I could attend with a few of my students, but I don’t feel like I know them well enough after just a few months here and I think it’s better suited for older, high school level students. I hope to start more youth driven activities here in my site, once I’ve settled in fully and my brain isn’t on such an emotional rollercoaster. Back on subject though.

Consider the cost of a daily Starbucks cappa-frappa-do-whats. At around $4 and change, let’s round it up to five dollars, that’s about 150 baht, enough to cover someone’s stay at the conference. Multiply that times five. That’s 750 baht. We’re trying to raise the last $910 for the project, so every little bit counts. If you want to see any more information, like the plan for the conference, details of the budget, or anything else, please email me for further information.  Click here for the official Peace Corps project page for more information or where you can make a tax-deductible donation if you wish.

As Gandhi said, ‘be the change you wish to see in the world.’ I’m not saying do something crazy like join those nutty hippies in the Peace Corps, but maybe forego those coffees for a day, a week, a month and change a kid’s life forever in rural Thailand.

2 thoughts on “Forget that coffee and change a life today!

  1. Awesome post, and honestly, don’t give up on applying to take some kids! I attended the meeting in BKK and I really think any kids will benefit from this! You have two months before the app is due to find two students to go. Start a small project, talk to your counterparts and other employees at the schools … all you need is two kids with potential! I think you would be an awesome person to bring kids because you’d definitely attempt to sustain some things at your site after the conference. Think about it … it could be pretty awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

