The Art to taking a good Jumping Picture

You know what I’m talking about. You see the famous site, the sunset/rise, or just having a little fun with the puans (friends to you non-Thai speaking folks out there). It’s drawing you in, intoxicating your brain, the trip just wouldn’t be set without it: a jumping picture.

I’ll admit, the jumping photo wooed me a long time ago when I met someone that was doing an entire journal named ‘Leaping through Europe’ and I’ve been hooked ever since. What is it about capturing yourself flying through the air in-front of things that makes the grass look a little greener, the blue sky a little brighter, and that ancient site look a little more…ancient-y?

So what are these qualities to make a fantastic jumping picture?
1. A good relationship with the photographer.
If you can’t get your timing aligned, you and your jumping picture will remain star-crossed lovers, never joining, but always so seemingly close to one another. Well, and also find someone that’s willing to deal with you as you try for perfection. Sometimes I go for the ‘third time is the charm,’ others like my Krabi picture were a one-off shot. Bonus points if they capture you at peak height of your jump. The important thing is, you and your photographer working out the kinks or you’ll end up with something like this, a couple of failed shots.

 

2. Scenery
I’m a personal fan of the sunset/water shots myself, but anything legit will do. I think the more recognizable the site, the better your picture will turn out to be. With such tight space on the Great Wall, we didn’t get to really spread out much, but still got a good shot. Much better than just the average smile and peace sign shot (I’m in Asia, it’s rubbed off on me). Bonus points if you get a reflection of the jump.

Brighton, England: Jane Austen used to dally around here, I just visited with some great travel friends, Becca and Kjerstin

 

Sunrise in Myrtle Beach South Carolina, yes please

 

Oregon Coast, the blue skies were awesome!

 

It's the Great Wall, how could we resist not doing one of these?

3. Hops
As a person of extreme tallness and extreme whiteness, there are only a few moments in my life that include hang time. I was much better when playing basketball and volleyball, but I feel like my heels take flight again when I take a jumping photo. As you can see, I’m a fan of the leaping ballerina, legs jumping wide and arms, not so gracefully flailing around. There are other forms to choose, as you can see from Becca/Kjerstin’s bunched up look, they definitely look like they have better hops than me. Little midgets. I like the Oregon one the most for air Jordan.

Crater Lake, Oregon...if ever on the west coast, take the time to see the color blue in a way you never thought possible

 

4. Happy
Last, but far, far from the least, any jumping picture is made perfect by a grand dose of good ol’fashioned happiness. I get this feeling a lot when traveling, making said pictures all the more complete. Hopefully, you’ll be seeing a lot more of these throughout my two years here in Thailand and many more in my nomadic days following.

First off shot, I miss this land of awesomeness, Krabi, Thailand

3 thoughts on “The Art to taking a good Jumping Picture

  1. First of all I want to say fantastic blog!

    I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t
    mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your
    head prior to writing. I have had trouble clearing my mind in getting my ideas out.
    I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15
    minutes are lost just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any ideas or tips? Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

