Friday Five

My Favorite Youtubettes

Let’s Make It Up
Seriously, I owe this girl so much. I remember, back when I decided that I could still try to look like a female in Thailand, I did a little youtube search for hairstyles. A parasite relationship was born. I re-learned how to do all kinds of braids, how to do them into different ‘styles’ (God I feel so stupid for saying that), and I’m not going to lie, it changed my perception about my hair (as in, if it’s not braided, it’s not done, which is good because as I’m pretty much refusing to cut it in Thailand, it’s allowing this time to not get the shit beaten out of it by heat and/or much chemicals). She’s boho, an awesome braider, and a pretty/intelligent gal.


The video that got me hooked.

Jenna Marbles
Dear God. This girl is hilarious. She does videos that are commentary on things like ‘What girls do in the bathroom,’ ‘Why girls hate each other,’ and ‘Sluts on Halloween.’ I think it helps that she swears a lot. It reminds me of my constant internal dialogue with myself.


I can’t make it through this video without my sides aching.

Chescaleigh
This is the girl who came up with ‘Shit White Girls Say to Black Girls.’ Rawr she makes me laugh out loud when I’m alone in my classroom with headphones on. Pretty sure my students think I’m crazy.


How many of these are you guilty of ever saying?

Luxy Hair
I originally didn’t realize they were the owners (two sisters, not twins) of a hair extension business as I found them through just their hair tutorials (did you really think that I could stop at just one channel of hair braiding?). Now I just watch wistfully and hope I’ll some day treat myself to their extensions. I also really like their second channel that has fashion, makeup, and them talking about random bits like why they don’t wear leather.

Wendy’s Lookbook
Back when it was cold (haha) and I was wanting to wear scarves (not because it was THAT cold, but because I could), I stumbled on this video of Wendy’s. Not only is it amazingly edited, but she has several companion videos that go slower and do a step by step instruction for some of the harder styles. After this video, I was drawn to Wendy’s videos for different outfit ideas and pining over what I can do once I re-enter a four season climate again.


Le Sigh.

Leave a Reply

