I’m in the Club

I’ve been officially inducted to the Peace Corps Thailand Isaan club. I had to perform a task of great ardor and difficulty to be welcomed in with open arms. And today I succeeded. I killed Momma Scorpion.

She tried to scuttle away to hide.

I mentioned in a previous post that this scorpion was here to greet me when I got back to Chiang Mai. At that time, I wasn’t sure if I should go for the kill shot and by the time I received confirmation from a fellow (and veteran) Isaan Volunteer, it had scuttled off. Not before it didn’t lay eggs somewhere, but I got the little guys before they grew to the point of giving me heart palpitations.

I had hoped after the first sighting that it laid its eggs and moved on. And then Jeff was surprised when it nearly crossed over his feet as he was on his way to the bathroom. I had resolved never to walk out without giving search to the area, which came in handy today.

On my way to the refrigerator, my eye was caught by a moving black something that was going too slow to be a rat. As my eyes focused in, I felt the surge of adrenaline that I used to have right at the tip-off of my basketball games. Except a wee more petrified.

With my longest reaching broom/brush hybrid, I squashed her. She took two fatal hits to go down, but even an hour later, I found myself checking and rechecking the location to make sure Mama Scorps was still down for the count. I’m going to let the ants take care of her as a little science experiment.

Flying cockroaches, beetles the size of quarters, and now I can add scorpions to the list. Isaan, you’ll be the death of me.

A lot juicier than I imagined. 

Leave a Reply

