It’s Like Christmas in July!

I’ve had a countdown. The thought of it kept me going through multiple English camps and teacher trainings. Pure, pure beauty. Vacation here I come!

Going to the beach in Thailand is like walking into a screen saver. My first beach trip, my eyes could hardly believe what they were seeing. These are the images most people tend to come up with when they hear Thailand, rather than the rice fields, water buffalos, and rabid dogs chasing you down that is my real home. Here’s the rundown of where I’m going/why there won’t be more in-depth posts for a few weeks.

Friday 7/6: Make my way to Surin. Though it’s a mere 200ish kms, it’ll likely take me a good portion of the day with all the three different vehicles taking me. Jeff has promised me a beer and a burger upon my arrival.
Saturday 7/7: Make our way to Trat or Chantaburi. It’s not supposed to be a very long ride (threeish hours), but that depends on what kind of mood Thailand is in.
Sunday-Tuesday 7/8-10: Beach Bunnies. We’ve discussed the need for margaritas and pizza while watching some waves. I’m hoping for some more snorkeling.
Wednesday 7/11: Make our way to the sweaty ball sack that is Bangkok and meet up with some other Volunteers.
Thursday 7/12: The first activity for the fiftieth anniversary of Peace Corps Thailand… an open house at the American Ambassador’s house. Um, what?
Friday 7/13: The big shebang, I get to see the one of the Thai princesses AND was chosen to be part of the group that takes a picture with her. Given that all photographs of royalty are strictly monitored, I feel like I’m in a little piece of history. No big deal. All returned PCVs that served in Thailand are invited to attend as well and I’m both excited and nervous to do a little networking with them.
Saturday-Wednesday 7/14-18: Visit my old site and friends in Uthai Thani. They’ve been asking me for months to come for a long visit, so I decided since I would already be in Bangkok for the 50th celebrations, I should make the trip. My mind is comparing it to the summer visits I would make to my Aunt and Uncle’s house in the ‘country’ (at least compared to Pittsburgh) where there wasn’t a whole lot to do, but you get a lot of reading and sleeping done. Perfect end to a vacation if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

