Tuesday Travel Photo

Ah Mont St Michel! You are one of France’s true treasures. The first time I visited this splendid country, I hated Paris for its heat, crowds, and my jet lag. Not like Paris could have helped it, I went in the middle of summer before the natives got out-of-town for their own vacation. (Paris and I have since made up, but we keep each other at length.) Going to northern France was quite literally a breath of fresh air. The cool ocean air brought a pleasantness that can be hard to notice when so warm within the city bounds and I instantly fell in love. My particular favorite part of that trip was seeing the phenomenal Mont St Michel and climbing for what seemed like forever around packed streets. At seventeen, it felt like such an adventure. More than the Eiffel Tower, the Arc de Triomphe, the Louvre, or the Champs-Élysées, that memory is stamped into my mind. Paris is a fantastic part of France, but this week, I would like some of that weather and thrill I found in Mont St Michel and northern France.

Picture Source:  http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/france/8616065/Unesco-wants-France-to-suspend-all-wind-farm-plans-on-Mont-St-Michel.html

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Travel Photo

Leave a Reply

