Friday Five

Five Things I look forward to in my first Autumn in the non-tropics

Crisp Air/Weather
Does this go without saying? After nearly two years in a country which the seasons can be titled ‘hot, hotter, and hot and wet,’ I crave the husky, dry air of Fall. It’s a different kind of air than spring, what I’ll be diving into when I first get home and don’t care for as much. All that yay renewal stuff means nothing to someone that’s been in a technicolor green haven for an extended period of time. I want the dead smell of leaves falling and air not quite cold enough that my ass cheeks have turned pink after a day outdoors. Mmm, hoodies.

Fashion
Layers! Cardigans! Scarfs! Boots! I’ve spent a significant portion of the past year learning about fashion and hair things that I am so excited to try out in a place that will not require heavy sweating while accomplishing those looks. Sometimes I wear long sleeves or pants around the house on days that don’t really necessitate it, but because I can. In the next Autumn, not only will I want/need to, but I’ll have options as well.

Leaves
I feel like leaves own its own category because I’m just so sick of seeing green, Green, GREEN everywhere I look. I know once I leave, I’ll miss seeing palm trees everyday, but I’ll gladly change that in for a nice oak or maple with red, orange, and yellow leaves, hopefully put into a pile so I can jump and roll around in them.

Holidays
Autumn has a nice line-up of fun that Thais generally don’t recognize and/or decorate for. I want to drive through neighborhoods with jack-o-lanterns and ghost decorations. And then see stalks of corn next to kids dressed up as pilgrims and indians, despite how wrong that story is. These are of course leading up to the big shebang also known as Christmas. One thing I’ve realized during my time in Peace Corps is when the people surrounding you don’t celebrate something it both helps and depresses you. No one reminds you of it, but then at the same time, no one else reminds you of it. I’m so looking forward to getting swept up in the holiday spirit and soaking it all in to make up for two years worth.

Desserts
A tie in to the holidays is of course the temptations that appear alongside them. And what dessert doesn’t taste better on a Fall Sunday afternoon wrapped up in a blanket with the fire going watching a movie with people you like to grace your presence with? A few I’m looking forward to: my Mom’s 3/4 baked brownies with vanilla ice cream melting on top, my aunt’s inch thick sugar cookies, eating raw chocolate chip cookie dough, my grandmother’s peanut butter and chocolate pie, and apple pie (something that I’ve acquired a taste for in Thailand oddly enough). I think I’ll be taking pictures of a lot of food when I get back to America… and not just in Autumn.

2 thoughts on “Friday Five

  1. With COS being on the horizon, many 123ers are writing about the new nostalgia of America. I’m savoring my time, but looking forward when the horizon seems closer and I can appreciate the fullness that “return” entails. I enjoyed reading this post.

    • This time last year, it felt too far away to really think about it realistically. Now it feels so close I can taste it. This being the last term, cold season, my Mom coming finally coming for a visit, and COS closely after that, it’s kind of blowing my mind a little bit. Enjoy the sense that you have now of time and that you can still do so much.

Leave a Reply

