Friday Five

Five Scary Movies for October

Scream
An absolute classic. I haven’t seen this since the late 90s and was probably way too young to watch such a bloody movie. It wasn’t nearly as scary as I remembered, but I still enjoyed it so much that I decided to try out the newest installment, Scream 4 and was pleasantly surprised by it as well. Emma Roberts stole the freaking show.

28 Days Later
Watched this (sort-of) zombie/end of the world film at a friend’s suggestion and fell in love with it. Not only is it plenty bloody (people are infected with the ‘rage’ virus and rip all kinds of people apart and puke blood on them to spread the disease), but it had a few captivating messages about human nature when you go take away the idea of civilization and a future. The sequel, 28 Weeks Later, has me crossing my fingers for a third installment.

The Exorcist
I decided this Halloween season I would finally give in to the half-desire half-fright to watch what many call one of the scariest movies of all time. In the protection of day and averting my eyes at several key moments, I was able to make it through this creeper classic without any nightmares. Yes, I’m proud of that. Unfortunately, the movie I watched after it as the sun was setting, The Exorcism of Emily Rose (I wanted to keep it in the same category), pushed it too far and the combined effects of the two movies had me watching shallow, happy films for the rest of the night to get my mind off it.

Saw
Another bloody film of my adolescence that I thought would complete the scary movie round-up. As an extremely guts spewing type of feature, I wouldn’t suggest it to anyone that can’t stomach that sort of thing, but if you can, this is a fantastic movie with some messages about being grateful for the life you’re living. I’ll be happy to answer more questions from Thais about my breakfast and where blue eyes come from if I don’t have to play in one of Jigsaw’s games.

Hocus Pocus
This movie isn’t really scary to me anymore, but I still try to watch it every Halloween. To my credit, it was creepier when I was a little kid hoping the Sanderson sisters didn’t put me under a spell trying to suck out my youth. Now I laugh along with it, picking up more adult jokes that Disney movies always tends to throw in to entertain the poor parents dragged along to watch.

Any more suggestions of scary movies to check out are more than welcome!

Leave a Reply

