Friday Five

Five Photos From Phipps Conservatory– Playing tourist in your own hometown is surprisingly amazing. Phipps Conservatory was never really my cup of tea, but after a day blowing around Oakland with my brother exploring our old stomping grounds at University of Pittsburgh, it was good to get out of the cold and winter gray-scape and into an explosion of color and life. A full post about Phipps is likely to follow sometime soon.

Looking directly up at one of Chihuly's pieces, it feels like a spider of beautiful flowery proportion is descending upon you.

Looking directly up at one of Chihuly’s pieces, it feels like a spider of beautiful flowery proportion is descending upon you.

I saw tons of orchids in Thailand, but an entire room dedicated to Philpps made me feel like I was in a flower wonderland.

I saw tons of orchids in Thailand, but an entire room dedicated to Philpps made me feel like I was in a flower wonderland.

This was my favorite room. With the statue in the background, tulips, and a rainbow of colors. Sigh.

This was my favorite room. With the statue in the background, a multitude of tulips sprinkled around, and a rainbow of colors of these kinds of flowers. Sigh.

One of the rooms modeled after the famous gardens in England. Just you know, warmer.

A room of a water garden.

A lily among... more lilies?

A lily among… more lilies?

Leave a Reply

